November 29, 2022


New US farmer-leaders appointed to United Soybean Board




The United States Department of Agriculture announced the appointment of 19 new farmer-leaders to serve on the United Soybean Board (USB).


In addition, 24 farmer-leaders were reappointed. Forty-six leaders and alternates will serve three-year terms, and one new appointed member will serve a one-year term. Leaders will be sworn in for service during the USB December Meeting in St. Charles, Missouri, the United States.


"We are thrilled about this group of directors joining us, whether they are new or returning farmer-leaders," said Ralph Lott, USB's chair. "Each of them offers different expertise and industry insights that will assist with making strategic checkoff investments to benefit all US soybean farmers now and looking at what's ahead."


The soy checkoff provides significant value to farmers by continuing to fund programmes that build preference for US soybeans across the US and throughout the world.


Authorised by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the checkoff is composed of 77 members representing 29 states, in addition to the US Eastern and Western regions. The number of seats on the board and farmer representation is based on bushels produced in each of the production regions. Members must be soybean farmers nominated by a Qualified State Soybean Board.


"I look forward to the diverse perspectives these farmer-leaders will bring to our board. Together, we will work to create value for US soybean farmers through strategically designed research, education and promotion programmes,'' said Meagan Kaiser, USB's vice chair.



Video >

Follow Us