March 3, 2022

New US farmer-leaders appointed to United Soybean Board


The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced the appointment of nine new US soybean farmers to serve on the United Soybean Board (USB) and reappointed eight directors for an additional term.

Farmer-leaders will serve a three-year term.

"With different uses of soy continuing to grow, this is an exciting time to be a USB farmer-leader. I look forward to working with these passionate individuals who will bring additional perspectives and insights, expanding our group of creative and innovative thinkers," said USB chair Ralph Lott. "The reappointed leaders bring back valuable experience, having worked through our Value Creation Framework process determining future checkoff investments. Together, we will move US soy forward and bring value back to the farm gate of all US soybean farmers."

US soybean farmers receive an estimated US$12.34 in value for every dollar they invested in the checkoff. Those investments continue to fund programmes that build preference for US soybeans across the country and around the world.

Authorised by the Soybean Promotion, Research, and Consumer Information Act, the checkoff is composed of 78 members representing 29 US states, in addition to the Eastern and Western regions. The number of seats on the board is determined based on bushels produced in their region. Members must be soybean farmers nominated by a Qualified State Soybean Board.

"This group of farmer-leaders represents a variety of operations and unique points of view across the many growing regions of our country," said Meagan Kaiser, USB vice chair. "We all share a common goal to maximise the profit opportunities for every US soybean farmer, and I'm eager to work together to strengthen our collective future."



Video >

Follow Us