February 4, 2004



Russia Ban Poultry Imports From Asian Countries


Russia has on Monday, imposed a temporary poultry ban from some Asian countries following bird flu outbreak in the region.


Imports of live birds, incubated egg, all types of poultry products, and feed and feed additives from South Korea, Vietnam, Japan, Thailand, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Pakistan and China are suspended, the ministry noted in a news release.


The document also suggested that although the World Health Organization is not recommending any restrictions on trip to the countries where bird flu cases have been registered, people traveling in the nations should refrain from visiting places where contact with infected birds or poultry can occur.

Video >

Follow Us