January 20, 2020


Malaysian checkpoints on high alert for African swine fever


Malaysia has imposed pork import bans on 12 countries, with increased enforcement at entry checkpoints to prevent African swine fever from entering the country, reported The Star Malaysia.


The countries that have been banned from exporting pork and pork related products to Malaysia are China, Vietnam, Thailand, Myanmar, Philippines, Indonesia, Laos, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Korea, Poland and Belgium.


Sim TzeTzin, Agriculture and Agro-Based Industry Deputy Minister said the country has not reported a ASF case thanks to the good work of the Malaysian quarantine and Inspection Services (MAQIS) which guards all first points of entry to Malaysia.


He said offenders will be charged under the Malaysian Quarantine Services and Inspection Act 2011 (Act 728) law, with 1,002 cases in 2019. Fines totalling 201,500 MYR (~US$49,642; 1 MYR = US$0.25) were charged on 18 offenders and 166.6 million MYR (~US$41.04 million) worth of products were seized.


He added that Malaysians should advise friends and family not to bring pork related products into Malaysia as it will be seized at checkpoints. 


-      The Star Malaysia