June 23, 2011


Australian Pork Cooperative Research Centre appoints new board



With effect from July 1, the new Pork Cooperative Research Centre of Australia will have a new board consisting of the following directors; Andrew Spencer, Dr Hugh Wirth and Kenton Shaw.


Replacing Paul Pattison, Associate Professor Wayne Pitchford and Andrew Maughan from July 1, they will join existing board members, Dr John Keniry (Chairman), Professor Simon Maddocks, Professor John Pluske, Dr Rob Van Barneveld, Rod Hamann, Sam McIvor, Brian Halstead and Nigel Smith.


Announcing the new board, Keniry said it was vital that Australia's pork industry maintain local production of reasonably priced, high quality pork, produced at an acceptable return on capital invested, while improving pig welfare, the environment and consumer health.


He thanked the outgoing directors for their outstanding contributions to the success of the inaugural Pork CRC and said he was confident their replacements, Spencer, Wirth and Shaw, would build on the work of their predecessors, while bringing fresh ideas and new skills to the board.


Spencer is CEO of Australian Pork Limited, Wirth, a veterinarian, is a former RSPCA Australia President and Shaw is General Manager, Production, of Rivalea Australia.


Australia's pork industry has an annual farm-gate value of AUD1 billion (US$1.05 billion), contributes AUD3 billion (US$3.16 billion) annually to the national economy and generates 8000 jobs.


Late last year, the industry welcomed the announcement by Senator Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research, to fund the CRC for High Integrity Australian Pork for AUD20 million (US$21.1 million) over eight years.


The Pork CRC's 40 participants have committed AUD18 million (US$19 million) in cash and AUD94 million (US$99 million) in-kind, to complement the Federal Government's support.

Video >

Follow Us