January 21, 2021


India confirms bird flu outbreaks in 12 states


India's Ministry of Fisheries, Animal Husbandry and Dairying has confirmed bird flu cases in 12 states across the country, with Haryana, Maharashtra, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, and Madhya Pradesh states detecting the virus among poultry birds, the Times of India reported.


The ministry said containment measures have been completed at Parbhani district and the Central Poultry Development Organisation (CPDO) in Mumbai, with sanitation underway.


The ministry also said rapid response teams have been sent to other affected areas to cull poultry birds. Areas where bird flu has been detected among migratory wild birds and crows will continued to be monitored.


Culling operations have been completed in Madhya Pradesh, while rapid response teams continue culling operations in Chhattisgarh and Haryana.


Bird flu is spread in India by migratory wild birds that pass by the country between September to March.


Bird flu has been confirmed in these 12 states in India: Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Maharashtra, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, Gujarat and Punjab.


- The Times of India