January 12, 2022

American Farm Bureau establishes 2022 policies



Farmer and rancher delegates at the American Farm Bureau Federation's (AFBF) 103rd Convention adopted on January 11 policies to guide the organisation's work in 2022.

Key topics ranged from milk pricing and beef market transparency to urban agriculture.

"Delegates from all 50 state Farm Bureaus and Puerto Rico came together today to demonstrate the power of grassroots leadership," said AFBF president Zippy Duvall. "The policies set forth will guide Farm Bureau in its mission to advocate for farmers and ranchers and build a sustainable future of safe and abundant food, fiber and renewable fuel for (the United States) and the world."

Delegates also reelected Duvall and AFBF vice president Scott VanderWal for their fourth terms.

Long-standing frustration over imbalances in the meat industry led to calls for greater transparency in livestock markets.

As farmers' labor struggles continue, delegates approved additional policies that build on existing AFBF policies regarding the need for employee stabilisation and reforms to the guestworker programme.

Delegates voted to bring more transparency to the federal milk pricing system. Several changes to policy include support for more a more consistent format for milk checks and a review and audit of the producer price differential on milk. Delegates also called for the United States Department of Agriculture to publish resources that show how each Federal Milk Marketing Order operates and differs by region.

Delegates updated policy on biofuels to include renewable diesel. The addition recognises the innovation and potential that sustainable biofuels play in providing environmental benefits while creating opportunities for US farmers.

As farmers and ranchers continue to increase their reliance on digital technologies, delegates voted to support raising the standard for federal broadband projects to be at least 100Mbps for both uploads and downloads.

Recognising the growth of urban agriculture and importance of ensuring the success of all forms of agriculture, delegates voted to create new policy to support its continuation and acknowledge its economic contributions.

Beyond policy changes, delegates also elected members to serve on the AFBF board of directors and national programme committees.


Dan Glessing, president of Minnesota Farm Bureau (Midwest Region); Brent Johnson, president of Iowa Farm Bureau (Midwest Region) and Eric Mayberry, president of Tennessee Farm Bureau (Southern Region), were elected to fill one-year terms on the AFBF board of directors. Jeb Smith, president of Florida Farm Bureau (Southern Region), was elected to a two-year term.

Twelve other US state Farm Bureau presidents were reelected to two-year terms to represent their regions on the board.